Home > post mortem > SpaceJunk Post Mortem

SpaceJunk Post Mortem

I started work on SpaceJunk back in March with an idea from my desktop background at the time. I had originally intended the game to be a month long project in order to get my feet wet with Flash development and selling games on FGL. It ended up turning into about a three month project that I put about roughly 60-70 hours into. When comparing the original idea with the current, feature complete game I realize how much it has evolved. I had imagined the game to be an endless, but I had soon realized that the game play became quite stale. A few friends made jokes about battling other planets, but I took it to heart and added them as bosses. As with my other games, SpaceJunk started out with a very steep difficulty curve that I slowly brought down after the months of development. Even now there are people still complaining about difficulty, but statistics show that at least half are reaching the end so I am content (as most could not even beat the first boss before!) All in all, I’m very happy with the way this game turned out. I’d like to once again thank Chris Sinnott for working with me through the last leg of the project and writing some kickass music. The both of us plan to continue our work together on future games. I’d also like to thank my friends who did a lot of play tests while I was working on the game, especially Eric Liaw.

What I Have Learned (Aside from the various technical things related to Flash)

  • Record the hours you’ve spent working on the game, its more important than you think.
  • No matter how harsh feedback can be, you need it to make the game please a wide audience.
  • Really do think about how the code will be organized beforehand as proper organization is key to an efficiently and sanity.
  • Don’t be afraid to ask others for help, other developers were once in your shoes.
  • No matter how hard you work on obvious tutorials and in-game tips, the majority will not read them anyway.
  • Pace yourself while working on the project as it will help prevent burn out.
  • Create to do lists and goals to help fuel your motivation.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

