Home > ludum dare > Ludum Dare Post Mortem

Ludum Dare Post Mortem

December 21, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I finally have my first complete game available on the internet. I’m happy. =] I’ve always been better at getting things done when the end product got a grade, or in this case, a rating. The first 5-6 hours into the compo was pretty easy, but the following day was a bit of a struggle with the lack of sleep. All the coffee helped keep me awake but didn’t do so well for an empty stomach. Empty stomach you ask? Yeah, I kept forgetting to eat. I’d go say “I’m hungry, but I need to finish this script before I get some food” and of course that led to “Wait, one more” then I’d eventually forget I was hungry. Horrible, I know, but I was so focused and motivated on my game. It was such a great feeling and the fact that it actually turned out fun was an even better reward. Like I said in my previous post, this isn’t the end of Voyage of Discovery. I am really proud with how it turned out and I want to push it to its full potential. Now that I’m not under a deadline, I will be rolling out new versions with new features within a few days. I’m just taking a break now and getting things in order.

Not to mention cleaning up the rushed code, though I do feel like I did a much better job and modulating the code.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

