Home > lonely pixel news > [lonely pixel news] What have I been up too?

[lonely pixel news] What have I been up too?

Well I’ve been attending classes at Devry, producing work for a growing portfolio:

I’m really loving Illustrator and the vector style, but I’ve also been doing a lot of kiddy, children’s art kind of stuff like the one above. I actually got a job offer to do the illustrations for a children’s book! I’m still waiting to see how it pans out but, hey, at least i know some one noticed me. =]

You can find more of my work, though most of it is dated, at my deviantart. I’m also using Shownd as my online portfolio until I can afford my own domain.

Aside from all the graphic design stuff, I’ve also been pouring thought into my dreams of becoming an indie developer. As always, I’ve been experimenting with ideas that never really turn into a real game and I’m sorry to those that I dragged into a few of my projects. I wasn’t doing it to lead anyone on, I was just as excited! But I have a short attention span and when I start to see fault in the game concept, I lose hope in having a successful game. Thus see no reason to continue and lose interest. It’s help to if I could find someone who would sit with me while working on a game, but I guess I’ll have to wait and see what happens. =]

At least all the tested ideas haven’t been a complete waste; I learn how to program specific things and new functions I haven’t used before, in game maker that is.

You know, when I first came across game maker I thought it was such a newbie tool since it isn’t really a traditional way to make a game. I thought others would look down on games made with game maker as inferior as ones made sitting in front of lines and lines of code. But as I’ve been watching the indie scene, I find many really superb games that are made with GM. Plus I’m a really visual oriented person, I couldn’t handle just looking at code while making a game. GM allows me to do a lot of things visually. If your wondering, no I do not use the Drag and Drop functions; I long ago realized how limited it was and have learned GML and with every project I learn more and more.

I’m beginning to see game making as my beloved hobby rather than a job. And honestly, I like it that way. I don’t have to worry about having a boss rip my creative ideas from me nor do I have to pray that my newest game will bring me enough money for food this week. I can do it at my own pace and not have to worry about anything but the thrill of creating a game. =D

/end

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

