Home > lonely pixel news > To Notch

To Notch

May 17, 2010

One day I found Infiniminer, but soon after playing a game it left me wanting so much more. So I went on a search to find a similar game and that’s when I found Minecraft; when Notch’s baby was just learning to walk. I was immediately impressed with his work and logged a good number of hours playing the free sandbox version. It wasn’t until the begininng of 2010 that I realized the game had so much potential and finally gave in to the 15 dollar admission to indev. I was pleased with my purchase right away and very impressed with Notch’s number of updates. Being an indie developer is hard work; often there is no money involved during the production phase and sometimes not even any in the end. Notch was smart and was able to get a foothold in the media even before his game has left alpha. Besides Minecraft profits, he also had a job which was bringing home the brea, but now he has taken the jump that many starting indie developers dream to do; go full time indie.

I am happy that Notch is following his heart and would like to congratulate him. I thought the rest of the community would also realize what he is doing, but I was wrong. Today I read Notch’s post regarding all of the complaints he has been getting about the lack of updates. I was quite disappointed with everyone’s lack of understanding.

Notch has quit his day job and moved into a new home. Amongst the other things that life brings on a daily basis, that is enough to stress anyone out. Notch is also the ONLY developer working on Minecraft which puts a lot on his shoulders. Considering what he has done up until this point, he deserves his break.

So I’d like to let you know, Notch, that I support your efforts and understand your stress. Many other developers cannot even make it to where you are today. Minecraft is full of potential and it’s not because its another Call of Duty; it’s unique and offers a totally new experience than anything else out on the market that taps into everyone’s inner child.
-Alex Larioza

