Home > Uncategorized > an introduction.

an introduction.

So as the tag-line states, this is a blog about games that just need some love. I know there are tons of blogs and websites out there that already do this, many of which that I am subscribed to and read daily, but I love to write and I have never actually started a blog on one specific subject. I’ve been wanting to start one for a couple months now, but it wasn’t until quite recently that I came to the revelation to combine both my passion for writing and video games. Not to say that I am a virgin to blogging; I’ve had a few personal blogs and actually still maintain my Xanga. But with Lonely Pixel I want to actually write for some else other than my self.

Be warned: this site is not for main stream games, though, you might see a few exceptions. Its for those very expressive, emotional, and/or intuitive little gems out there that no body seems to hear about. Games that step away from the standard successful formulas and experiment with new game mechanics or user interaction.

I’ve grown tired over the past few years with the on-going hype of the newest Call of Duty game or any other shooter for that matter. (Don’t get me started on Madden) Its just the same formula with better graphics. Murder simulators with achievements. Sure I play them, but I believe video games are better than blood and realistic graphics. They can produce awe inspiring works of art that other mediums can’t replicate simply because of the user interactivity.

And where would this blog be without a little information about the author?

My name is Alex Larioza and I am, well, a gamer; always have and always will be.  At the time of writing this, I am seventeen years old and well into my last year of high school – senior year. And oh boy has it been one hell of a year already.  I’m planning on attending Devry University and obtaining my Bachelor’s degree in Multimedia Design and Development. After college I eventually want to create an indie video game company, or join one.

While back in the day everybody was playing Mario Kart on the N64, I was one of the few who was playing Toejam and Earl on the Sega Genesis. This was probably my first step away from being pulled into main stream gaming.

I soon came  to own a PS1, Ps2, Gameboy Advanced, Xbox, Xbox 360, Nintendo Ds, and of course a PC. Not saying that I haven’t played on other systems.

As of lately, I’ve been playing more on my PC because of the sheer amount of indie video games at my finger tips.  Though the consoles are taking great strides in bringing indie games to their systems, the PC is still currently best way to get to them.

-Alex

  1. Me
    January 9, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

    • January 9, 2010 at 5:57 pm

      Ah well I’ve always wanted a blog or website that had a steady flow of traffic. Not because of the popularity, but I find it fun to reply to peoples’ questions and moderating the medium on which they are using. But quite frankly, I don’t know where this is going to go, but hopefully it goes somewhere.

      Thanks for the comment and subscribing!

  2. January 9, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    …discovering indie gaming treasures!
    i really like the idea behind your new blog!
    retro gamers unite 😀

    • January 10, 2010 at 6:29 am

      Ah I see you found my new blog. I was going to send you and email later to show you what I was up too but there is no need for that now. As for my game, chomp, its become a side project that I work on during me free time. Hope to see the final product of pixel prospector soon!

  3. January 13, 2010 at 8:53 am

    My brother would love this post. We were just discussing about this. lol

    • January 14, 2010 at 12:37 am

      Haha. Nice to hear there are still people whole remember Eets. =]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

